I want to Heal but I don’t want to Change – Aye, there’s the rub.

The conundrum many thousands, indeed millions of people face in all areas of life when meeting difficulty  goes something like this;
“Yes, I really want to (heal my illness, get fit, find the perfect partner, become rich, be happy) BUT I don’t want to have to change myself too much. The subtext reads, ‘I don’t want to change my thoughts, I don’t want to resolve my rage, fear and pain. I can’t face the truth. I don’t want to utterly transform myself until I am no longer the person I was, and I certainly don’t want to change my habits’.

No, I want all the good bits to happen, but since I still, deep down inside, believe that nothing that happens to me has anything to do with me and I’ve just been cursed by bad luck, I just want someone to wave a magic wand and make everything turn out alright..

Enter the Medical Profession stage left, and shuffling right behind them the Pharmaceutical Industry…Enter the gifted Internet Marketer stage right, enter the relationship guru, enter the spiritual guru..They are all there ready to help you get from where you are to where you want to be…BUT THIS IS MY POINT..

If you imagine (and this is jaw dropping in it’s stupidity) that you can get to where you want to go, particularly if you want to heal illness, WITHOUT CHANGING FUNDAMENTAL ASPECTS of your thinking, emotions and behaviour, permanently (and I might say, for the better) then you really do not have any understanding of the basic principles of human psychology – period.

“We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.” Einstein.

But boy do we try.

At first I didn’t want to change. Then I realized I had to.

Let’s just turn our attention to healing illness. The current pathology that drives sick people to go cap in hand, uninformed and desperate, to the doctors, consultants and other professionals, is a monumental societal sickness itself. And for lifestyle, emotions, beliefs and habits NEVER to be addressed by these professionals sets up the powerless victim mentality that plays into the hands of the greedy corporate monsters who simply do not care about healing or cures but only about profit and perpetuation. BUT THIS IS THE RUB.
No-one ever cured, healed or resolved their illness WITHOUT CHANGING STUFF!!
The collusion between doctor and patient around this is laughable, if it wasn’t so sad. Doctor and patient both consciously or unconsciously talk about diabetes, heart disease, cancer, inflammation and the treatment of it, but very rarely do they have the genuine conversation about what habits, thoughts, emotions, foods, drinks, or relationships are contributing to said problem..
It’s the feckin blind leading the blind!

English: Albert Einstein Français : portrait d...

English: Albert Einstein Français : portrait d’Albert Einstein (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We have got to get a grip on this catastrophic nightmare of stupidity we are suffering from. How people can create their sickness (as I did), wheel themselves off to the surgery expecting a miracle and never address what THEY actually did to create the sickness in the first place is beyond me!

We are Powerful beyond measure. We are the creators of our lives and our experiences. We are vast electrical bio-computers with access to the divine. We stand in our own way. We are capable of anything, from healing our illness to creating our illness. Whatever we believe, truly believe deep inside, we will do. We can live from our magnificence or we can live from our smallness and victim hood. It’s our choice. It is up to us to inform each other of that choice.
Change is the greatest constant. We think we can stay the same. We like what we are, or we are afraid of changing. But we are changing anyway, as is everything around us. The truth is that when we embrace the hidden gifts that life offers us, whether through illness, relationship, or money, we find new and unexplored areas of ourselves, new vistas, new inner countries to explore. And we change and grow into deeper and wiser human beings.  Refusing to change is like refusing to grow up, hanging on to childhood when it’s obvious it’s over..When we embrace the transitions life offers us ANYTHING CAN HAPPEN, but it is always enriching..
And society grows richer because of it.
Embrace whatever life is throwing at you, it’s your gift, even when it’s real tough..

I hope you have enjoyed reading this as much as I’ve enjoyed writing it!!

2 thoughts on “I want to Heal but I don’t want to Change – Aye, there’s the rub.

Leave a Reply

