Runners High

Yesterday I ran 14 kilometers in the heat. I was transported to bliss. It was like meditation and calmed my mind. I was absolutely at peace with myself and the world. It was such a transcendent yet ordinary experience that I became instantly addicted. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been a runner a long time, but this feeling was at another level to anything I have previously known.
It wasn’t exercise, it was life, it was spiritual, it was euphoric. And of course it didn’t last, but in those fleeting moments I was at home. Runners know what I’m talking about.

In the 90’s my current wife, who has transformed into a (spiritual) teacher, wrote her phd on the Runner’s High and was one of the first people to study the direct connection between exercise and feeling good, or meditation. Nowadays we know these things and take them for granted, yet they are easily forgotten.

And yesterday I was there, in the zone, no time, no space, just running happening to me, one foot in front of the other, body delighted, mind quiet and occasionally distracted but always returning to peace.

I am saying this to encourage those of you who get defeated real easy, those who give up, those who think they will never get to a place of effortlessness.

I got news for you…IT TAKE TIME, PERSISTENCE, PATIENCE AND TRUST.
I am 54, healthier now than ever before in my life. From the age of 16 to about 40 I did NO EXERCISE. None!  I drank, took drugs, smoked, walked to the pub, got on trains, but never any exercise. And then I have experienced Major illness in the last 9 years and had to deal with that, healing it bit by bit, slowly slowly..
And all the time gradually getting fitter and fitter until this year, when I can finally say @I’m pretty fit!

I can run. I love running, I am a runner. It gives me everything I need, space, motion, outside, time.
When you couple this level of exercise with great nutrition, which for me in Summer is RAW and very Fruit based, then you just feel fantastic!

Don’t give up hope. Keep on keeping on, gradually and suddenly. It will happen if you aim in the right direction and trust, and of course keep training.

I’m going again today! I don’t expect the same experience, I learned long ago never to expect the same experience, you are just setting yourself up for disappointment.
Don’t expect anything, just give all you’ve got and leave grace to do the rest.

Have a good run!

Leave a Reply

